David Bowie & Iman Married For 20 Years

On April 24, David Bowie and Iman will have been married for twenty years, an exceptional achievement among celebrities.

In 1992, the glamorous couple were married in a civil ceremony in Lausanne, Switzerland where Bowie lived at the time. (Later, David and Iman would marry in a church service in Italy.)

Both Bowie and Iman were recently named as TIME Fashion Icons.

David Bowie and Iman StrikingDavid Bowie and ImanThe marriage has been scandal-free and characterized by an extremely upbeat public profile. It seems to be something of a storybook romance.

How Bowie Met Iman

David and Iman had met very briefly in passing and Iman had attended his concerts, although always declining the inevitable invitations backstage by his entourage.

But they were first introduced properly to each other at a dinner party in Los Angeles held in October 1990 by a mutual friend, Teddy Antolin, who was their hairdresser.

David Bowie and Iman 1992Bowie says he fell in love with her right away, but he had to overcome Iman’s reluctance to date a rock star. Iman has been quoted as saying,

“I did not want to get involved with a rock star. No way. It is not a sane thing to do but David changed my mind. He wooed me.”

Iman said that after two weeks, she knew “he was a keeper” when she flew from Paris to Los Angeles where he met her at the airport

“the doors open …  I see all these people taking a picture of somebody. And he was standing there, flowers in hand, no security. That was when I knew. He didn’t care if anyone saw.”

They have been together ever since.

David Bowie and Iman Now Married 20 YearsHow Bowie Proposed To Iman

David arranged a romantic cruise just for two along the River Seine, which flows through Paris.

The crew on the boat ride included a chef who prepared a gourmet dinner for the couple. There was also a pianist to accompany David when he serenaded Iman.

He proposed to Iman under the Pont Neuf bridge, serenading her with his version of Doris Day’s April In Paris.

The Storybook Romance Continues

Iman,

“My marriage is exactly as fabulous as you all would think”

“I still fancy him and he makes me laugh like no one else does.”

David,

“You would think that a rock star being married to a super-model would be one of the greatest things in the world.

It is.”

See also: David Bowie & Iman Wedding

David Bowie and Iman 2011

David Bowie and Iman 2006

About David Bowie News by Bewlay Sister

new articles on the history of David Bowie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to David Bowie & Iman Married For 20 Years

  1. unitrapped says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! And yes I must admit: I love Bowie’s huge, provocative and talented career. His personality, posture and spontaneity He’s a real artist and “the subject matter (he) writes about is (…) ISOLATION” … there are so many things that can be said ( I prefer just listen to him) and so much has been said already… Good luck to your blog!

  2. Maurício says:

    Bowie, the Rock God, more than deserve such an incredible, gorgeous woman. I love Bowie and her. I´ve been to Pont Neuf, and his proposal should have been amazing. Just for two with a piano… Man… that is style and class never to be matched. I always tell my friends I wanted to be a man like Bowie for just 5 minutes.
    I can´t stop listening to the whole Sound & Vision album and especially It´s Hard to be a Saint in the City and The Bewlay Brothers. He´s not a singer – singers are humans… He is a MIRACLE.

  3. Pingback: David Bowie & Iman Wedding | davidbowienews.wordpress.com

  4. Isadora D says:

    Bowie, Angie, Zowie…. What an outstanding family ! And how it was nice and cool ! And how they made us dream !… No such thing today with David robert Jones/Iman/alexandria …. Iman take up far too much place, she is so artificial so much cosmetic surgery, … Breast filled with siliconne, very big calves…. I find her face really ugly . Angie was not beautiful but she at least pushed Bowie up to stars, she participated in the creation of the character ” Bowie “. IF you compare photos of both weedings, you can see very huge difference between both couples that Bowie formed with these two women and oh how much I prefer thousand and thousand times better the couple which he formed with Angie. I hate , I detest strongly what Iman made of David Bowie, she killed Bowie.

  5. Lacey2016 says:

    TOO CUTE!! Fairy tale romance, too sweet

  6. Olga S says:

    Like so many, I have been an admirer of Mr. Bowies versatile talents. You should check out his art it is truly powerful and compelling work, especially his lino cuts and head portraits. He was accomplished in that area as well. I think Iman is not only beautiful, but a lovely, redeeming individual who seems as if she has the gift of commonsense. She seems well grounded and looks like a gracious woman who loves to laugh. She has certainly given Mr. Bowie the gift of life and endurance. I hope he tours Australia. There are plenty of things to see in Melbourne…galleries, quaint little bookshops, which he may well find interesting.

  7. So beautiful to see them still together.Love is real!!!!!

  8. @Isadora, you are off your rockers, Hun. To me: David has been at his best with Iman. His latest CD ( btw , i’ve been playing non stop) has received widespread critical acclaim and several songs like “Boss of me” and “Where are we now” relates to Iman. And Iman is a beautiful, successful woman in her own right. Long live the Thin White Duke (love David and Iman)

    • Isadora D says:

      I’m NOT, NOT AT ALL agree with you, but everyone is free to think whatever he likes…. And yes, I love his last album as well (The Stars (are out tonight) … Where are we now …. you Feel So Lonely you Could Die … Heart … )This album is not a masterpiece, but it is very good and I like it.
      Peace and Love !…And Bowie For All Eternity…

  9. Janet Carr says:

    It is clear to see who HE is far far happier with. He is totally off drugs and alcohol and cigarettes, laughs all the time, is fantastically funny and happy and so together in interviews these days. He is himself with no need of orgies or gimmicks or personas or to be off his head on drugs to function. His marriage is scandal free and they look so happy together. He was a boy with Angie. He is a man with Iman. He has been clear in interviews that he never loved Angie. With Iman he lights up when he talks about her and talks about how happy and how in love he is. Twenty years on and still going strong – time tells the truth doesn’t it? I love him and I love them as a couple. They are just so perfect.

    • Olga says:

      Mr David Bowie is the definitive multi-media artist. He has shown us his superb skill and success in acting, painting (check out his works online) and stage performance. To give him the modest title of “rock star” would be undermining his creative industry.
      He should consider having a retrospective exhibition including Australia.

  10. Maurício says:

    Very well said, Olga. Bowie is much beyond rock. It´s a Musical God, but I´d say he is a miracle. 1984/Dodo, John I´m only Dancing, Suffragette City, The Bewlay Brothers… he defined a generation, shaped imaginations, styles and lives. Not to count his values (“Fame”). I put him right there with the Beatles, and nothing less.

    • Olga says:

      I agree wholeheartedly, Mr Bowies musical accomplishments is on par with the Beatles, but the former has more of an intellectual edge which served him well in having control and making decisions. Let me not remind you of Paul McCartneys ill-fated appearance at the London Olympic ceremony; in a few minutes he undid the greatness and respect he achieved as a Beatle.

  11. Olga says:

    Hi Janet, I absolutely loved the genuine emotion and delightful anecdotal glimpses in your article. A highly enjoyable read, thank you. I had no knowledge of Mr. Bowies Retrospective exhibition at the V & A Museum. I am impressed by its spectacular curatorship. I sincerely hope we have a chance to view the exhibit in Melbourne! Best, olga

  12. Maurício says:

    Janet, I read your article on Bowie in your blog too, just loved it. And signed up to your blog. Really great to know what it was like back then. I relate with my experience: Bowie, in the 80´s and during my adolescence, was something very weird, exotic, half man half woman, scary and misterious, but very attractive artistically. But at that time and from where I was (Brazil) I could only see rare pictures, foreign magazines were inexistent or highly expensive, and of course no internet. I would know his work later on in the 90´s and went crazy for him of course.

  13. hes always been the one since his earlier days in the ship inn at rochester kent and central hall theatre i dont think anyone has been as expressive as him except elvis michael jackson elton jhonand some others but youll never beat ziggy stardust mega dope forever for me zanie annie (anne clift) lucky iman luv ya huns

Tell me, what's your POV?

